Number of Councillors7
Meetings per year6 plus Annual Parish Assembly
Average period between meetings8 weeks
Usual venue for meetingsBrightling Village Hall
ChairmanAndrew Wedmore
Vice ChairmanCaroline Croft
Planning Committee All Councillors
CouncillorsCaroline Croft, Judy Petty, Dianne Mower, Daniel Lambert-Gorwyn, Jane Oxenford, Andrew Wedmore,  Roderick Wrenn
Statutory Functions
ChurchyardsAnnual grant made to Brightling PCC towards maintenance of the churchyard.
Crime PreventionThe expenses of Neighbourhood Watch Chief Co-ordinator are reimbursed by Council. The council consults and reports incidents to Sussex Police and has regular contact with the local PCSO.
School GovernorsSchool Governor Mrs Bobby Steel sends reports on Dallington School to Brightling Parish Council 3 times per year.
Rights of WayIn partnership with ESCC, the council regularly checks footpaths and bridleways for clearance, surface condition, signage and bridge maintenance and reports to ESCC for work to be carried out. Limited clearance work undertaken by council.
Trees and VergesAll councillors are registered as Tree Wardens, various training courses available. Overgrown hedgerows abutting highways are observed and landowners notified when cutting back of trees or hedges required, if no action taken reported to ESCC as Highways Authority have powers to serve notices for clearance. Reports damaged or missing furniture and signs to ESCC. Taken responsibility for maintenance and decoration (biannual programme) of traditional guideposts from ESCC who remain the ‘owners’.
DrainageRoad drainage is responsibility of ESCC Highways, council regularly checks for blockages etc and informs ESCC as necessary.
Post and TelecomsConsulted by Post Office and BT regarding changes to services.
Buildings and HallsSupports the independent Village Hall Committee, appoints representative to the Committee (currently Cllr Jane Oxenford) who reports back to council. Gives financial support annually.
Planning ProposalsConsulted by Rother District Council (RDC). Reports unauthorised work to RDC. Consulted by RDC/ESCC on planning strategies.
War MemorialsPartner with PCC for maintenance/restoration as and when necessary.
Emergency PlanningResponsible for drafting and maintaining Parish Emergency Plan and issuing to RDC/ESCC.
Community BenefitThe council gives annual donations to various charities that provide a tangible benefit to the residents of Brightling. Currently they include Sussex Air Ambulance, St Michael’s Hospice, the Rural Rother Trust, Bexhill and Rother Citizens Advice Bureau and Sussex Victim Support.
ClerkMrs Gilly Lowe
Council OfficeOld School House, Brightling, Robertsbridge TN32 5HH
Internal AuditorKeith Robertson, contact via Council Office
Subscribes toSussex Association of Local Councils (NALC through SALC)
Rother Association of Local Councils
Action in Rural Sussex
Key RelationshipsCllr Eleanor Kirby-Green, RDC
Cllr John Barnes, ESCC
Mr D Stevens, Chief Executive, RDC
Sussex Police
High Weald AONB
Last updated2 July 2020

Parish Councillor Lead Responsibilities

BroadbandCllr Andrew Wedmore
Crime, anti-social behaviour, police relationshipsCllr Caroline Croft
DefibrillatorsCllr Caroline Croft
Hedges overhanging highwayCllr Judy Petty
Phone boxCllr Jane Oxenford
PlanningAll Councillors
Potholes and road surface problemspage4image2866010320Cllr Judy Petty
Refuse collectionCllr Caroline Croft
Road drainageCllr Judy Petty
SignpostsCllr Daniel Lambert-Gorwyn
TreesCllr Daniel Lambert-Gorwyn plus Tree Warden
Utilities (water and electricity)Cllr Lambert-Gorwyn
Village hallCllr Jane Oxenford
WebsiteCllr Andrew Wedmore
Welcome packsCllr Jane Oxenford

Parish Councillor Contact Details

Cllr  Caroline Croft  01424 838278‬
Cllr Judy Petty
Cllr Dianne Mower  ‬
Cllr Daniel Lambert-Gorwyn
Cllr Jane Oxenford
Cllr Andrew Wedmore  01424 838667
Cllr Rodderick Wrenn

Parish Councillor Registers of Interest

Cllr Caroline Croft Declaration
Cllr Judy Petty Declaration
Cllr Dianne Mower Declaration
Cllr Daniel Lambert-Gorwyn Declaration
Cllr Jane Oxenford  Declaration
Cllr Andrew Wedmore Declaration
Cllr Rodderick Wrenn Declaration